top of page

Healthy but delicious food!

Cloud bread

Okay so I saw this recipe on Facebook, it stated that this bread was carb-free and only used 3 ingredients…so I thought the video was worth a watch. After watching it and seeing how simple it looked, I decided to give it a go. Like I said this recipe only has 3 ingredients and they are:

3 eggs

3 tbsp cream cheese (softened)

½ tsp baking powder

So the first step, as always, is to preheat the oven to 300F but this time instead of taking out those baking trays, line them with baking/parchment paper and let them heat up with the oven.

Next your need to separate the eggs into two bowls. To the yolks you will add the cream cheese and the baking powder goes with the whites. So add the cream cheese to the yolks and whisk out any lumps. I just used a hand whisk for this and it worked fine however you could always use an electric hand mixer if you prefer. Once this has come together, move onto the egg whites. Add the baking powder and using that electric hand mixer, whisk up the eggs until they are fluffy and have small stiff peaks. When you have done this, fold in the yolk mix carefully, trying to keep in as much air as possible. Next remove the pre heated baking trays and spoon a small amount of mixture onto a tray, smoothing it into a thin circle (similar to a pancake). I made them about 8cm wide but really you can make them as big or small as you are like. They don’t expand too much, just puff up a little. Bake these for 15 mins or until the insides are fully cook and allow to cool on a cooling rack. Once cooled, place them into a sealable bag and leave in the fridge overnight. The next morning, they will be beautifully fluffy and can be used just as you would use bread. Enjoy!

I was a little worried of how these would turn out so I didn’t take photos…I’m sorry!! Next time I make them I will take photos though, I promise!

Post-Workout Power Squares

I found this recipe in a cook book that my mum bought me over the weekend, “Lean in 15” by Joe Wicks. I’ve heard great things about this guy so was eager to try one of his recipes. I’ve been trying hard to eat healthy over the past couple weeks however I always struggle with my sweet tooth, therefore I turned straight to the dessert section to find a sweet healthy snack that I can indulge in. I came across these Post-Workout Power Squares which had no sugar or sugar substitute in the recipe at all so I settled on these. The recipe in the book is:

12 pitted dates

100g rice cakes

220g rolled oats

2 apples cored and grated

200g dried cherries

30g (1 scoop) vanilla protein powder.

For the rice cakes I used chocolate ones as I had no plain ones in the house and I used a cookies & cream flavoured protein powder instead of vanilla, again because that was the only flavour I had in.

So first of all put the dates into a small bowl and cover with boiling water, leave for 5 minutes. Next blitz all the rice cakes in a food processor or blender until they are fine crumbs and add them to a large bowl. Add all the other ingredients and I suggest grating the apples straight into the bowl in order to get as much of the moisture as you can. I found that apples don’t grate like you expect, they pretty much turn to mush but this is fine and is what keeps it all together. Once the dates have softened for 5 minutes, blitz them and add to the mixture too. Use your hands and combine all the ingredients really well, and place in a medium sized lined baking tray. Bake this on 140C for 25 mins and then allow to cool for 5-10 minutes before enjoying. I cut this into 24 pieces (as the recipe book stated) and they are the perfect sized snacks!

Me and one of my friends tackled this on Saturday night and it didn’t take us too long at all, the longest part was definitely grating the apples. We gave these to our football team to try out after our game on Sunday and they all loved them, as you can see from their cheesy grins!

Just a short one this week but next weeks will feature some brand new products that I have been trying, so tune in!

Have a great week everyone!

The English American
bottom of page