top of page

Perfect Peppers!

This week is another foodie week with me trying out a brand new recipe that I’d seen online and a different take on one of my previous posts.

First up is the new dish that I tried which was Taco Stuffed Peppers. I saw this on one of those quick five minute videos that travel around Facebook like lightning because everyone wants to try them but no actually does…so I decided to give them ago. Here is what I used to make mine:

1 pack of Quorn mince

1 sachet of fajita seasoning

1 onion

1 can of kidney beans

1 cup of rice, cooked

1 cup of corn

1 jar of salsa

1 cup of cheese, grated

4 peppers

Toppings

Sprinkle of cheese

Guacamole

Sour cream

As per usual, first pre-heat the oven to 175C/350F. I then cut the tops off the peppers and pulled out the insides so they had lots of room for filling. I used three red and one green pepper as my mum doesn’t really like green ones. Place these in a baking dish and if any decide to be a pain and fall over, carefully cut the bottoms until they are as even as possible and stand up nicely. Place these in the oven for 20 minutes and then get preparing the rest of the ingredients. I added a small amount of coconut oil to a pan and added the mince. While waiting for this to heat through, I chopped the onion into small chunks, drained the kidney beans and measured out the corn and cheese. For the rice, I used once of those ‘cook in the bag’ packs that only take 2 minutes in the microwave, and then measured out a cup of this. Once the mince had warmed through, I added the fajita seasoning to it with a few tablespoons of water. I made a space in the centre and added the onion so that that could cook soften up nicely. Next add the remaining ingredients into the pan so everything can warm through and the cheese can melt.

By this time the peppers should almost be done but if you do have a little bit of time, then now is a good time to make some guacamole. I mashed up an avocado and added a splash of lemon juice, sprinkle of salt and black pepper, some chopped up red chillies and some finely chopped red onion.

Once the peppers are done, carefully take them out the oven and remove any water that may have gathered in the bottom of each pepper. As the peppers were too hot to touch, I used some kitchen paper to soak up the water from inside. Next I added the filling to each pepper, fill them up as much as possible for maximum flavour. I then added a sprinkle of cheese on each pepper and placed them back in the oven for another 15 minutes.

Once the time is up, remove them carefully from the oven and place the peppers on a plate. I added a spoonful of guacamole, a dollop of sour cream and one final sprinkle of cheese on to each one, and boom…they were ready to serve.

See what you think of Taco Stuffed Peppers, delicious and easy to make!

Next up is a vegan variation on my Creamy Chicken and Spinach Ring, however I didn’t make this one, my friend from work did. She is a vegan but after reading about my creation, she decided she had to make a version that was suitable for her. For the filling, my friend used leek, mushrooms, onion, mashed potato, carrot and vegan cream cheese and chicken. Take a look at her photo below and let me know what you think!

Thanks for reading and let me know if you see any recipes that you want to try but don’t have time. I will be happy to give them a go and let you know how they really taste. Peace out for now!


The English American
bottom of page