top of page

Keep Calm & Comfy On

This week I wanted to talk about some amazing new clothes that I am totally addicted too right now. Those that know me will know that I tend to dress quite casual most of the time and although I do love a good dress and heels now and again, for me it’s all about being comfy. Good news for those nodding their heads and agreeing with me right now because I believe the comfy trend is ‘in’ and it’s here to stay. Many stores are now marketing ‘comfy’ clothes as ‘going out’ clothes which is why ‘comfy’ is the fashion must-have right now. So what I am talking about when I refer to comfy clothes? Well I am talking about long tees, playsuits, dungarees, leggings and the best of all…trainers, anything really that gives us freedom and allows us to be super-duper comfy. The one great thing too with this new trend is you don’t need to splash out on loads of different items; just a few basic pieces can go a long way and will work for a variety of different occasions. For example I recently purchased a long white tee from H&M and one day I wore this into work (on a dress down Friday of course) tucked into a pair of cuffed jeans and accompanied with some trainers. Another time I wore this same tee over a pair of shiny leggings, a big sparkly necklace and some heels to go out for dinner with my mum. To think that it’s now acceptable to wear just a long plain white tee out to a nice restaurant is awesome and even my mum (who likes to think she is pretty glam) was impressed by my rather comfy but stylish outfit.

Here’s a few of my recent purchases that I am absolutely loving;

Long plain tees

Like I mentioned earlier, I bought a long plain white tee from H&M a couple of months ago. I loved it so much, that I went back and purchased it in a beautiful burgundy colour. I also wanted it in mustard, but they were sold out…boo! I also purchased a long tee that is black with a slight athletic feel to it. I wore this for a family event with just some comfy black boots; it looked dressed up but was super comfy. You can buy this here for a small price of £6.99.

Leggings

Ladies, we all love leggings don’t we and hopefully you’ve found some that fit perfectly for you. If not check out my other blog post here, when I did some research into the best leggings around (in my opinion). So leggings have been around for years, so why am I mentioning them now, well it’s because these are the perfect partner to long plain tees. Wear a pair that have the leather look, or are shiny, and you’ve turned boring (but comfy) leggings into a ‘night out on the town’ outfit. The pair I am wearing below were a Primark find and cost me less than a tenner.

Checked shirts

Now my American readers might be confused at what I am talking about here, so for you guys I am referencing flannel/plaid shirts. So now we are all on the same page, these have recently taken the UK by storm and I believe the trend has come from the US. When I was out there, these shirts were very popular especially with ‘country’ folk, who would accompany their flannel with some jeans and a pair of cowboy boots. We haven’t quite gone as far as the cowboy boots, but the flannel shirts have hit the UK and people are loving them. These can be bought in a variety of lengths; some cropped to wear with jeans or skirts, regular length ones and also long ones which go great with your trusty leggings. I also saw a photo on Pinterest where a girl had casually tied her shirt round her waist (like you used to do as a kid) and the overall outfit looked pretty sweet. See what you think of this look below.

Trainers

Again to avoid confusion, I am talking about ‘tennis shoes’ if you are reading from the states (UK readers, I know it’s weird). Those that know me will know I love my trainers, from Converse to Nike to Vans, when I’m not at work I am very likely to be rocking a pair of kicks. The looks that I have mentioned above all go great with a great pair of trainers which is brilliant, and means my trainer collection can finely be put into practice. However, these looks can also be paired with some heels if you do want to dress up the outfit a little bit more or to keep it comfy a pair of ankle boots!

Dungarees

It’s mad to think that dungarees have come back in fashion. Last year we saw short dungarees released with the summer must haves but now the full-length dungarees are in. Pair these with a cropped tee or plain tee and some trainers to achieve the comfy but stylish appearance. Unfortunately I don’t have a photo of these as I only just picked mine up this weekend but keep your eyes peeled on my Instagram account as I will be flaunting these this week sometime. I bought mine from New Look after initially seeing them on ASOS where they were sold out, they cost me under £30.

The final piece of clothing I wanted to mention is a bodysuit. I purchased my first one a few days ago and wore this over the weekend and I adore it. I wouldn’t consider them ‘comfy’ if I’m honest as they kind of bring back memories of having to wear a leotard for gymnastics when I was little but I love the look they give. I paired mine with some jeans and the bodysuit gives the look of a flawless tucked-in top and for those who have tried to keep a top neatly tucked-in, will know the struggle. I bought this bodysuit from H&M, and it was in the sale so I got it for just £8 instead of £20…bargain.

Thanks for reading and let me know if you have come across any new fashion trends that you are loving or any items of clothing that you now couldn’t live without.

Peace out for now


The English American
bottom of page