top of page

All About Accessories

First of all, I want to say that I haven’t forgotten about my nail polish experiment. I took a little break while I was in the States as the heat out there was way hotter than here so I thought it would be slightly unfair. I have though just finished my last nail polish though so I will be reviewing them all next week.

So now onto this week’s blog. I want to tell you about a couple things that I am absolutely loving at the minute. Some of my friends have heard me harping on about my Lokai bracelets for a while now so sorry to them, but a lot of people haven’t heard of this amazing company. Lokai is a company that sell simple silicone beaded bracelets where one bead is white and one black on each bracelet…so what makes them so awesome I hear you ask. Well firstly Lokai sells them as ‘balance’ bracelets and this is because their motto is “when you are at your highest, stay humble and when you are at your lowest, stay hopefully”. The white bead in each bracelet contains water from Mount Everest and the black bead contains mud from the Dead Sea signifying the high and low points in life. The next thing that I love about Lokai is that they team up with charities throughout the year, creating different coloured bracelets depending on the charity, and a portion of the sales are donated to the charity. These bracelets are only available for a limited time period so you have to make sure you subscribe to their newsletter or check their website frequently to ensure you don’t miss any colours. Before I found out about Lokai bracelets, I missed out on the WWF one which was camouflaged colour. Those who know me will know my ‘love’ for camouflaged so I wasn’t too worried about missing out on this one. Since I purchased the classic clear bracelet though, I have bought every edition they have released so my collection is pretty impressive. The current one edition is the Shark Lokai and it’s in support of Oceana. I will be purchasing this over the next couple days. Oh and another great thing about Lokai is that they ship internationally and it doesn’t cost too much more than U.S. shipping.

You can see the colours in my photo above but these are the charities that they relate to;

Blue – Charity: Water

Pink – Susan G Komen (Breast Cancer Awareness)

Purple – Alzheimer’s Association

Neon – Make A Wish

Red – Save The Children

Lokai have a pretty sweet instagram account too, where they use photos from their customers, showing off their Lokai bracelet. Check it out here.

The next thing I’m going to tell you about is a wonder of a website called AliExpress and they sell pretty much anything. If you find something that you want to buy online or even in store, get on AliExpress first to see if they have it at a fraction of the price. The only downside to them is that what you buy is usually shipped from the Far East, meaning delivery time can be a number of weeks. My friend at worked described this as being great though because if you buy a big order on payday, as the end of the month looms and you have no money left, you will start to receive all these little surprises that you probably forgot you ordered. I recently bought some phone cases from AliExpress after seeing a Mandala case on social media that I really really wanted. I ended up finding 4 that I loved and the price for all 4 was way under £5…absolute bargain! Yes, like I said, they did take a few weeks to arrive but when they came, they were perfect. My favourite at the minute is my Mickey Mouse one which you can purchase here, but I am glad I have a few that I can switch between.

Which one is your favourite?

Thanks for reading this week and make sure you read next week's blog when I reveal what I found out about nail polishes. Also I have started testing out some face masks, so keep an eye out for that blog…coming soon! If you have anything you would like me to test out, please email me dschroed23@gmail.com and I will definitely have a look into it!

Bye for now!


The English American
bottom of page