top of page

Which Nail Polish Brand Really is the Best?!?!

So hopefully you will remember that a few weeks ago I said I was going to conduct a nail polish experiment. Basically, I want to see if expensive nail polish is better and worth the money, or if high street brands match up just as well! So I applied a different colour every Sunday evening, and left it on until the following Sunday morning. I compared; how easy it was to apply, how many coats were needed, how easy it was to remove, and the biggie…when was the first noticeable chip. For all nail polishes I applied a Sally Hansen base and top coat to make the trial more realistic, this is what I do normally when applying a nail polish. So here are my findings!

Essie Nail Polish - £8.99

Application – Easy

No. of coats needed – Two

Removal – Very easy

First noticeable chip – Wednesday evening

Other notes – Loved how easy this was to take off

Dior Nail Lacquer - £19

Application – Very easy

No. of coats needed – One*

Removal – Difficult to remove

First noticeable chip – Friday morning

Other notes – Absolutely loved this colour and the nail polish had a fantastic shine

Jessica Nail Polish - £10.50

Application – Easy

No. of coats needed – One*

Removal – Quite difficult

First noticeable chip – Wednesday morning

Other notes – Great shine with this nail polish

Rimmel - £2.99

Application – Very Easy

No. of coats needed – One*

Removal – Easy

First noticeable chip – n/a

Other notes – Lasted all week but my nails were slightly stained after removal. Loved the thick brush with this nail polish

Barry M - £3.99

Application – Relatively easy

No. of coats needed -Two

Removal – Quite easy

First noticeable chip – Wednesday evening

Other notes – I love the colours that Barry M offer

*For all nail polishes I applied two coats to ensure I kept consistency between brands, however one coat would have been fine.

So overall my favourite was the Rimmel nail polish, followed closely by the Dior nail lacquer. On a day to day basis, I would definitely pick the Rimmel though due to the price being a fraction of the cost of the Dior. Also, although the Barry M nail polish didn’t last too well, I do think they offer fantastic colours and they keep very up-to-date on new trends. This makes them a great choice for when you just want to paint your nails for a night out!

The photos show what my nails looked like after the week, so just before I removed each colour so hopefully this helps when you are next thinking of purchasing some new nails polishes. If you would like me to test any more brands, please just let me know which ones and I will be happy to give them a go!

Thanks for reading and please subscribe if you haven't already!

"The owner of this site is an affiliate of the products and or services recommended."


The English American
bottom of page